Coffee and Ballet Slippers.

Between a broken stove, dentist appointments, a forgotten wallet, a rather pricey vet visit, and a hubby working major overtime, it’s been a rough week.  Despite wanting an astroid to hit my house, I was impressed with how I have been seemingly handling everything with grace.

But everyone has a breaking point. Mine just happens to be coffee and ballet slippers.

Today I rewarded myself with a much deserved  Salted Carmel Mocha. If you have been following this blog these days , you know just how special and coveted this treat was.  I was feeling entitled having survived not just the vet, but the store and post office in the same morning. Right after I instagrammed my moment of weakness,  I remembered that I should go switch the loads of laundry I had going.

I didn’t even get to the bottom of the stairs when I heard a huge crash. My gut knew what had just happened.  Sure enough. There.  All over the floor was my precious drink. Miley didn’t even look guilty as she happily lapped up as much as she could, as fast as she could. That dog is so lucky that I am a patient girl and have some self control left.  I was ready to list her on craigslist…or worse.

Moments later, I hear Lili screech angrily, “MILEY! NO! BAD GIRL!” I rushed to see what this devious dog had done next, and there she was, chewing Bella’s very expensive ballet shoe to shreds. I didn’t even have to tell her to drop it, nor did I have to tell her to go to bed. She did both on her own, slinking past me with her head down. Ashamed. As she should be. She must have seen that wild look in my eyes.

What happened next was not a pretty sight.  I plopped Lili in front of the tv, went to my room, locked the door behind me, and threw myself on the bed to cry. No, to wail, a weeks worth of pent up tears.   It was ugly. Afterwards I threw on my p.j.’s, snuggled up with my girl and slept the afternoon away.

There is really no lesson learned here, no sugar coated revelation. No positive spin.

I am just having a no good, crappy, terrible, awful, week. ( To put it lightly ) That just happened to lead to a record breaking Mommy meltdown. Here is to hoping tomorrow is better, and that I re-gain some of my sanity, and perspective.

As of right now I am counting the minutes for the kids to go to bed.  As soon as their eyes shut I plan on breaking into the ice cream bars hiding in the freezer. I don’t feel like sharing. And I am not just going to eat one. I may just finish off the entire box.

I dare you to judge me.

6 thoughts on “Coffee and Ballet Slippers.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Cari, I really admire your honesty… and this is what makes a person living an ordinary life, so extraordinary… and for me this is the positive spin ;-)… I must confess I giggled and I read about Miley… even though I am sure it wasn’t funny at the time it all happened. Thank you for sharing your experiences… and I pray that you have a better day today and an enjoyable weekend! 😉
    (Psalm 30:5)

  2. Sarah H. says:

    Ha! Old friend, how you make me smile. I love your mommy in the trenches stories. Blessings and hugs from afar.
    “Joy and pain, they are but two arteries of the one heart that pumps through all those who don’t numb themselves to really living.”
    ― Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are

Leave a Reply

